Welcome to Geneva's On-Line World!
Tuesday, 19. November 2002
Genre 6 (4 e-mails cited)

TO: gmskeens@yahoo.com
FROM: Little Lady@yahoo.com

Date: September 10, 2002

Dear Ms. Skeens,

I am writing you about the conversation Herbert and I had with you the other day after his speech therapy session. You mentioned that sometimes people need to be around other people who are going through the same thing so they can share their experiences as part of the healing process. (Nagler, 1990). During our conversation you suggested that Herbert think about joining a support group for people who have swallowing disorders. Well I think that’s an excellent idea and Herbert, well he’s a little reluctant to share his “problems” with strangers says he doesn’t want people looking at him and feeling sorry for him. Well he may not be able to swallow but he’s still and contrary and stubborn as ever but I’ve finally got him talked into going to at least one meeting. So I was hoping that you might be able to give me the name and phone number of the person that I need to call to set this up.

Thank you for helping Herbert.

Wanda Mae Calhoun

TO: Little Lady@yahoo.com
FROM: gmskeens@yahoo.com
Date: September 10, 2002

Hello Ms. Calhoun,

I would be happy to provide you with the support group information. You may contact Imogene Scott at 1-800-555-1212 or e-mail her at SSG@yahoo.com. I believe they normally meet on Tuesday’s at 7:00 p.m. at the local library.

Swallowing disorders can be very distressing, but the more you understand the causes and find ways to treat the problem, the more successful you are in overcoming them. (Klugman & Ross, 1994). Swallowing disorders not only affect the person directly but also their family and friends as I’m sure you know first hand (Dysphagiaonline.com, 2002). I’m really glad that Herbert has made the decision to give the support group a try. I believe you both will be pleasantly surprised regarding how helpful other people who are in exactly the same situation can be. Please call me if you should have any questions before Herbert’s next session on Friday.

Geneva M. Skeens

TO: SSG@yahoo.com
FROM: Little Lady@yahoo.com

Dear Ms. Imogene Scott,

My name is Wanda Mae Calhoun and my husband’s name is Herbert Alexander Calhoun. We would like to come to one of your support group meetings. Herbert has a swallowing disorder as a result of a hemispheric stroke two months ago. (Barer, 1989). Geneva Skeens’ is Herbert’s speech-language pathologist and she thought it would be a good idea if we joined your support group or at least attended a couple of meetings. Herbert has been having a very difficult time because he is not able to swallow liquid or solid foods right now. He is easy to upset and feels isolated from his friends since his stroke. (Nagler, 1990). He had to retire from his job as a crew chief at the airport and now stays home all the time. He stopped bowling with his league and mopes around the house all day and most of the night. Ms. Skeens feels that your group can help us because Herbert is getting to the point where he’s feeling like his life is over because he isn't able to eat right now. (Gergen & Davis, 1994). He's becoming impossible for me to deal with. Please let us know when, where and the time of your meetings.

Thank you,

Wanda Mae Calhoun

TO: Little Lady@yahoo.com
FROM: SSG@yahoo.com
Date: September 11, 2002

Hi Ms. Calhoun,

We would love for you and your husband to join our support group. We have a small group of around 10-15 people on the average night. Members of our group have developed close relationships over the years and I want to encourage you and Herbert to give us a try. We meet on Tuesday’s at 7:00 p.m. in the Floyd County Library, 2nd floor, Preston Room.

Many times loss whether by death, disruption of relationships, illness, or disabilities is a significant event in a person’s life that leads to the pattern of behavior, affective, and cognitive changes know as grief (Klugman & Ross, 1994). It takes time for us to learn how to adjust to such changes and have a swallowing disorder is especially difficult. The reason why I say this is because many of us find eating to be a pleasurable and social activity. Clearly swallowing disorders can affect the quality of life. That’s why it’s important to learn how to cope with the changes that are occurring in your husband’s life. I know that our group can help you both, so we look forward to seeing you and Herbert on Tuesday.

Imogene Scott

TO: SSG@yahoo.com
FROM: Little Lady@yahoo.com
Date: September 12, 2002

Ms. Scott,

We’ll see you Tuesday night. Herbert says, "He hopes this group isn't touchy, feely, or a group of old busybodies who have nothing better to do but nag cause he gets enough of that from his family." He also wants to know if they'll be "FOOD" there. I don't know why my baby acts so stupid sometimes, he can't even swallow.

Thank you,

Wanda Mae Calhoun

Online for 7917 days
Last modified: 10/8/02, 1:28 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
December
Recent updates
Reflections by Geneva Skeens Content
A Multigenre Research Project (MRP) was assigned as an alternative...
by genevaskeens (12/8/02, 10:07 PM)
Webliolgraphy Geneva's Webliography
CD 315 Discipline Sites: Since I am currently a student in the...
by genevaskeens (12/7/02, 6:30 PM)
Table of Contents Preface
About the Author Acknowledgements Webliography: Genre 1 Poem: Genre 2 Journal...
by genevaskeens (12/7/02, 6:06 PM)
Unifying Genre A 3.4.1 This
script begins with Herbert and Wanda Mae getting ready to...
by genevaskeens (12/6/02, 2:26 AM)
4 E-mails (Genre 6)
TO: gmskeens@yahoo.com FROM: Little Lady@yahoo.com Date: September 10, 2002 Dear Ms....
by genevaskeens (12/6/02, 2:22 AM)
Genre 2 poem OH GOD,
PLEASE LET ME EAT. Throat can not you hear my...
by genevaskeens (12/6/02, 2:18 AM)
Welcome! Hi my name is
Geneva and this where I spend a great deal of...
by genevaskeens (12/2/02, 5:59 PM)
Genre 5 Powerpoint Presentation Hello,
This is my powerpoint presentation about swallowing disorders. I made...
by genevaskeens (12/2/02, 5:37 PM)
Genre 4 Brochure (Citations) This
brochure provides basic information about swallowing disorders. I have revised...
by genevaskeens (12/2/02, 5:21 PM)
WEEK 13 JOURNAL ASSIGNMENT 4.1.3.
Week 13. Well I found out this week that I...
by genevaskeens (11/22/02, 10:47 PM)
References American Heritage Dictionary
of the English Language (4th ed.). (2002). Retrieved October 24, 2002,...
by genevaskeens (11/22/02, 12:38 AM)
Genre 5 Powerpoint Presentation Here
is my second revision to my powerpoint presentation: How swallowing...
by genevaskeens (11/22/02, 12:19 AM)
Genre 4 Brochure Go to
Finally, third time is a charm or so they say....
by genevaskeens (11/22/02, 12:14 AM)
Genre 3 (2 Journal
Entries) August 23, 2002 I can’t eat and I’m miserable. Everyone...
by genevaskeens (11/22/02, 12:10 AM)
Acknowledgements I don’t even know
where to begin with acknowledgements, as everyone has been so...
by genevaskeens (11/21/02, 11:45 PM)
About the Author My name
is Geneva Skeens and I am a senior in the...
by genevaskeens (11/21/02, 11:39 PM)
Preface The Multigenre Research Project
(MRP) was a project for my Communication Disorders (CD 315)...
by genevaskeens (11/21/02, 11:34 PM)
Genre 6 (4 e-mails cited)
TO: gmskeens@yahoo.com FROM: Little Lady@yahoo.com Date: September 10, 2002 Dear...
by genevaskeens (11/19/02, 2:10 AM)
Genre 3 Journal Entries (Cited)
August 23, 2002 I can’t eat and I’m miserable. Everyone...
by genevaskeens (11/19/02, 2:07 AM)
Genre 5 Swallowing Disorders Here
is my second revision to my powerpoint presentation: How swallowing...
by genevaskeens (11/18/02, 6:35 PM)
Genre 5 Powerpoint Presentation Here
is my revised version of how swallowing disorders can affect...
by genevaskeens (11/18/02, 6:27 PM)
Genre 5 Powerpoint Presentation Here
is my revised version of how swallowing disorders can affect...
by genevaskeens (11/18/02, 6:26 PM)
Genre 3 (2 journal entries)
August 23, 2002 I can’t eat and I’m miserable. Everyone...
by genevaskeens (11/18/02, 1:37 AM)
Genre 2 Poem OH GOD,
PLEASE LET ME EAT. Throat can not you hear my...
by genevaskeens (11/18/02, 1:35 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher